Opportunities and Challenges in Integration of Renewable Generation in Electric Grids
Professor Pramod Khargonekar
Vice Chancellor for Research
University of California, Irvine

Pramod P. Khargonekar received BTech degree in electrical engineering from the Indian Institute of Technology, Bombay, India and MS degree in mathematics and PhD degree in electrical engineering from the University of Florida, USA. He has served in faculty positions at the University of Minnesota, USA and The University of Michigan, USA. He was Chairman of the Department of Electrical Engineering and Computer Science at Michigan from 1997 to 2001, and also was Claude E. Shannon Professor of Engineering Science there. From 2001 to 2009, he was Dean of the College of Engineering and Eckis Professor of Electrical and Computer Engineering at the University of Florida. He served as Deputy Director for Technology at the U.S. Department of Energy's Advanced Research Projects Agency - Energy (ARPA-E). From March 2013 till June 2016, he served as Assistant Director of the U.S. National Science Foundation as head of the Engineering Directorate. He joined the University of California, Irvine in July 2016 as Vice Chancellor for Research and Professor of Electrical Engineering and Computer Science. His current research interests are focused on renewable energy and electric grid, neural engineering, and systems and control theory. He is a recipient of the NSF Presidential Young Investigator Award, the American Automatic Control Council’s Donald Eckman Award, the Japan Society for Promotion of Science Fellowships, and a Distinguished Alumnus Award and Distinguished Service Award from the Indian Institute of Technology, Bombay. He is a co-recipient of the IEEE W.R.G. Baker Prize Award, the IEEE CSS George S. Axelby Best Paper Award, and the AACC Hugo Schuck Best Paper Award. He was a Springer Professor at the University of California, Berkeley, USA in 2010. He is a Fellow of IEEE and IFAC. He has been on the list of Web of Science Highly Cited Researchers (2001).

Connected and automated vehicle and powertrain control technologies to achieve unprecedented fuel economy gains
Professor Giorgio Rizzoni
Director, Center for Automotive Research
The Ohio State University

Giorgio Rizzoni, the Ford Motor Company Chair in ElectroMechanical Systems, is a Professor of Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering and of Electrical and Computer Engineering at The Ohio State University (OSU). He received his B.S. (ECE) in 1980, his M.S. (ECE) in 1982, his Ph.D. (ECE) in 1986, all from the University of Michigan. Since 1999 he has been the director of the Ohio State University Center for Automotive Research (CAR), an interdisciplinary university research center in the OSU College of Engineering. His research activities are related to modeling, control and diagnosis of advanced vehicles, energy efficiency, alternative fuels, the interaction between vehicles and the electric power grid, vehicle safety and intelligence, and policy and economic analysis of alternative fuels and vehicle fuel economy. He has contributed to the development of graduate curricula in these areas, and has served as the director of three U.S. Department of Energy Graduate Automotive Technology Education Centers of Excellence: Hybrid Drivetrains and Control Systems (1998-2004), Advanced Propulsion Systems (2005-2011, and Energy Efficient Vehicles for Sustainable Mobility (2011-2016). Since January 2011 he has served as the OSU Site Director for the U.S. Department of Energy China-USA Clean Energy Research Center - Clean Vehicles. Prof. Rizzoni is a Fellow of SAE (2005), a Fellow of IEEE (2004), a recipient of the 1991 National Science Foundation Presidential Young Investigator Award, and of several other technical and teaching awards.

Keynote Address
IEEE Control Systems Society, 2016 Transition to Practice Award Recipient
Connected Vehicles: Closing the loop with the highway
Professor Petros Ioannou
Director Center for Advanced Transportation Technologies
University of Southern California

Petros A. Ioannou received BSc degree from University College, London in 1978 and the M.S. and Ph.D. degrees from the University of Illinois, Urbana, Illinois, in 1980 and 1982, respectively. In 1982, he joined the Department of Electrical Engineering, University of Southern California where he is currently the A.V. 'Bal' Balakrishnan Chair Professor and Director of the Center of Advanced Transportation Technologies and Associate Director for Research of METRANS, a University Transportation Center. He also holds a courtesy appointment with the Department of Aerospace and Mechanical Engineering and the Department of Industrial Systems Engineering. His research interests are in the areas of adaptive control and vehicle dynamics, Intelligent Transportation Systems (ITS) and urban transportation for freight and people. He is the co-recipient of the 1984 IEEE Control System Society Axelby Best Paper Award. He received the 1985 Presidential Young Investigator Award, the 2009 IEEE Intelligent Transportation System (ITS) Society Outstanding ITS Application Award, the 2009 Institution of Engineering and Technology (IET) Heaviside Medal for Achievement in Control, the 2012 IEEE ITS Society Outstanding ITS Research Award and the 2016 IEEE Transportation Technologies Field Award. He is a Fellow of IEEE, IFAC and IET and the author/co-author of 8 books and over 400 research papers in the areas of controls and intelligent transportation systems.