The CCTA 2017 Student Best Paper Award is funded by the IEEE Control Systems Society (CSS) and has been established to recognize excellence in a CCTA paper whose primary contributor is a Student Member of the IEEE. Selection for the award is based on originality, clarity, and potential impact on practical applications of control.


The primary and first-listed author must be a student at the time of original submission, and must have a current IEEE membership for the year 2017. All finalists are required to attend the conference and present the paper in order to be eligible as a winner.


The award recipient receives round trip (economy class) air fare and up to four conference-rate hotel-nights at the CCTA 2017. All finalists receive complementary student conference registrations for CCTA 2017.

Presentation of Award

The winner will be announced by the CSS President at CCTA 2017 during the CSS Awards Ceremony on Tuesday, August 29, 5:30 PM. Each finalist will receive a certificate and the winner receives a plaque. For more information, click here or contact the CSS Chair of the CCTA Best Student-Paper Award committee, Alessandro Beghi (contact information is available on the provided link).


Evaluation of the nominated papers was carried out by a special CSS committee independent of the CCTA Program and Operating Committees. We are happy to announce the three finalists, from which the winner will be selected after the finalists have presented their papers:
Harikesh Arunachalam, Clemson University, for the paper entitled: "Modeling the thermal dynamics inside a ceria-coated gasoline particulate filter" (advisor: Professor Simona Onori).
Saurav Kumar, University of Texas at Dallas, for the paper entitled: "Automatic tuning of virtual constraint-based control algorithms for powered knee-ankle prostheses" (advisor: Professor Robert D. Gregg).
Michael R. P. Ragazzon, NTNU, Norwegian University of Science and Technology, for the paper entitled: "Exponential convergence bounds in least squares estimation: Identification of viscoelastic properties in atomic force microscopy" (advisor: Professor Jan Tommy Gravdahl).